Over the edge: Knitting patterns inspire!

12/19/2012 at 8:01 pm Leave a comment

Knitting 2

Aren’t knitting patterns inspiring! I look at the details and often find little treasures – bits of the pattern I could borrow to put in another project. Maybe just an edging….

Photo by Joe Hancock, © Interweave Press 2010

Photo by Joe Hancock, © Interweave Press 2010

This is an awe inspiring shawl, Someday I want to knit the whole shawl but right now I only have a little time. I am borrowing just the edging for a swatch.

Tencel Lace Edging 2

Edgings are incredibly useful to jazz up anything. Lace edgings are beautiful and give glamour  and spark. They can be applied to a blouse, the edge of a skirt, pockets, a decorative   pillow, a purse, a Christmas ornament and more.

T-shirt by SabakuEdging by me

T-shirt by Sabaku
Edging by me

I wanted this shirt to be longer. Look what a lace edging does for it.

WIL cover

The shawl is from Wrapped in Lace. This book is chock-full of wonderful shawls, beautiful lace patterns and lots of inspiration and borrowable ideas.

Pattern inspiration

Here is another idea. I liked the design of this sweater and I wanted to use up some of my stash of handspun yarn. I decided on a naturally brown 2-ply cotton.

Pattern in cotton

I didn’t think the flower boxes would not work in brown so I changed it to lace checks and kept the squares. The gauge in my cotton was a bit smaller but as cotton stretches I stayed with the pattern size.

All Laced Up

How about a wide edging for a tea cozy? This would make a nice gift for cozy lovers.

yarn_image_tn_188

The beautiful Tencel yarn in the swatch is wonderful to work with.  It is shiny with a nice drape but still has body. The 8/2 size is a nice lace weight. Love the color and the color name – Lemon Grass.  It is available in mini-cones – 840 yds for only $8.50.

Happy Knitting and Idea Borrowing!

Entry filed under: Knitting with Cotton Clouds yarns. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Cotton Cap for My Cat Join our Kit-of-the-Month Clubs

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,370 other followers

Recent Blogs

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Cotton Clouds

1-800-322-7888
www.cottonclouds.com

Categories


