Picture of Health!

07/25/2011 at 10:03 pm Leave a comment

Click here for my e-newsletter
10,000′ at Molas Pass, SW CO
 
Wouldn’t you say that I was the picture of health?  Full of vitality, energy & stamina?
 
Well, the health insurance industry doesn’t think so!  Being self-employed (I’m the founder & owner of Cotton Clouds, Inc, the #1 source of  everything cotton for the hand knitter, weaver, spinner and crocheter).   I haven’t had many choices these past 33 years of ownership in Cotton Clouds. So I stuck with my original health insurance carrier.
 
Then I needed a new hip, new knee and some toe surgery.  Thanks to them I was covered, but no thanks to my this health insurance provider, I couldn’t change from an HMO to a PPO, because of these pre-existing conditions (in additions to some other surgeries as well).  In 20 years, I had 12 surgeries.  

Celebrating my 63rd Birthday in CO

 
But you wouldn’t know it by looking at me!  I am the picture of health (see above and below!).  I exercise, eat healthy (no junk food!), just lost 25 lbs, and have the best attitude about life, love & happiness.
 
Each year my premium rose to finally over $1200/month!  That’s outrageous! It was eating me out of house and home!
 
So why when I tried to find another health provider with a lower monthly premium was I rejected?  Because the bottom line is that, to them, I’m a risk.  But to me that’s being prejudiced.  They don’t know me.  They don’t know that I swim, hike, do Nia dance, take good care of myself (a monthly massage, local hot mineral springs, am a vegetarian, etc).  They don’t know that all those surgeries worked and I no longer have pain or trouble hiking a mile or two, swimming across a 30 acre lake or  doing non-impact aerobic dance (Nia) for an hour.
 
So what to do?  I read an article at www.huffingtonpost.com by Arthur Delaney about something in Obama Care that might address my health insurance needs.  So I checked it out.  There is HOPE! I’ll tell you more about that next time. If you have a similar dilemma, check back to hear what you might be able to do.  It’s a bit scary and you have to have faith in your health for 6 months and not live in fear but it’s doable.

If your only dilemma is finding quality cotton yarns for your knitting, weaving & crochet or cotton spinning fibers to make your own yarns, the best HOPE for that is to visit us online at www.cottonclouds.com  and sign up for our educational e-newsletter & sales announcement by clicking here.

Me & my shadow hiking in San Juan Mts, CO

 

Entry filed under: Health Issues.

Coloring Contest for Weavers Embellish Your Life!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,370 other followers

Recent Blogs

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Cotton Clouds

1-800-322-7888
www.cottonclouds.com

Categories


