Weaving on my Rigid Heddle Loom

12/28/2011 at 11:48 pm Leave a comment

I love weaving on my Rigid Heddle Loom!

Working for Cotton Clouds has lots of perks. One of them is getting my hands on all the gorgeous yarns and colors to design my own scarf and to be able to share my ideas & designs with you.

This is me, Jodi Ybarra wearing my handwoven Rigid Heddle Sampler Scarf.

Starting with a variegated yarn (Waikiki), then chosing colors that blended and complemented each other made designing these scarves so easy & so much fun to weave. It’s one thing to see all the colors and textures in the warp but as I was weaving and saw how the weft brought it all together right before my eyes, was truly amazing!

In my warp, I used  Waikiki Variegated as my base yarn, then added  Cotton Classic , Felicia, Bambu 7 and Cotton Twirl  yarns as warp stripes. It was then easy (and pretty quick) weaving a  3/2 Pearly Perle 100% mercerized cotton in  the weft.

Warping a Rigid Heddle loom takes so little time that you will be weaving in no time. I used a 20″ Schacht Flip Loom. Click here to see Cotton Clouds’ Flip Studio Special with everything you need to start weaving!

 I highly recommend “The Weaver’s Idea Book by Jane Patrick for many warping and weaving tips (click here) and a life-time source of textures and patterns you can use in your own rigid heddle weaving

.

Cotton Clouds has designed 12 color combinationsfor this Sample Scarf kit.  You will be able to make 2 different scarves on one warp! Check out this Cotton Clouds Rigid Heddle Sampler Scarf and experience the fun of blending colors, textures and yarns in your weaving!

The Cotton Clouds’ Rigid Heddle Sampler Scarf kit

Wouldn’t it be great to keep on weaving all year long?  Why not join our Rigid Heddle Kit-of-the-Month Club and receive a kit every month (12 month club) or every other month (6 month club).  Shipping is free on all kit clubs to club members!  Order now and receive a FREE 2012  Handwoven Wall Calendar!

 What’s next? I’m weaving the Simple Country Towels kit (in the Homespun Plaid pattern with Natural & Rust 8/2 Aurora Earth).  They are part of the Rigid Heddle Kit-of-the-Month Club .  I’ll keep you posted as this project progresses.  I’m excited to get started!

Entry filed under: Kits, Rigid Heddle Weaving. Tags: , , , .

M-A-K-E time for your weaving! Heart to Heart

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 225 other followers

Recent Blogs

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Cotton Clouds

1-800-322-7888
www.cottonclouds.com

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 225 other followers

